Last Updated: Nov 4, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- APA-FT (Informit, RMIT)
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text) is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Full text coverage (500 journals): (1995 -) Index coverage: (1978 -)
- SocINDEX with Fulltext
Comprehensive coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines and related areas of study. These include abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social psychology, social work and many others. Contains over 2.1 million records & subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers.
Coverage: 1908 - current
- Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
Wilson's Social Sciences Index with full-text and images. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, art and more. Full text available. International with American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 - ( indexing from 1971).
- Families and Society Collection (Informit, RMIT)
Unique in its focus on Australian family matters, this collection brings together the most authoritative family related research available. Content providers include the Australian Institute of Family Studies, Australian Council of Social Service, Association of Children's Welfare Agencies, Australian Population Association and the UNSW Faculty of Law. Coverage from 1976 - current.
- Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)
Updated monthly and contains material from a wide selection of sources, including serials publications dating back to 1979, abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, citations and book reviews.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Comprehensive, authoritative collection of material—from international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. This database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Covers literature relevant to psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Includes references and abstracts to conference papers, dissertations, and technical reports in addition to journal articles and monographs. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1987 - current.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling—400 hours and more than 330 videos on completion. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.