Last Updated: Jun 12, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Covers literature relevant to psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Includes references and abstracts to conference papers, dissertations, and technical reports in addition to journal articles and monographs. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1987 - current.
- PsycARTICLES (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
The PsycARTICLES database covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. The database contains more than 35,000 searchable full text articles from 41 journals published by the APA and eight journals from allied organizations. It contains all journal articles, letters to the editor and errata from each of the 49 journals. Coverage now spans from 1987 to the present
- PsycBOOKS (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
PsycBOOKS, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a database of more than 12,000 chapters in PDF from over 700 books published by APA and other distinguished publishers. The database includes most scholarly titles published by APA from copyright years 1953 onwards. It also includes 100 out-of-print books and an additional 70+ classic books of landmark historical impact in psychology.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
This database provides 575 full text publications, including 550 peer-reviewed titles. Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection covers topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
- Psychology Journals (ProQuest)
With complete full-text coverage from top psychology and related publications, this database meets the needs of both students and mental-health professionals.
- Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works (Alexander Street Press)
Searchable collection containing real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. New material is added on a regular basis and, when complete, the database will contain more than 2,000 session transcripts, 40,000 pages of client narratives, and 25,000 pages of secondary reference material.
- Counseling and Therapy in Video: Vols I, II & III (Alexander Street Press)
Counseling and Therapy in Video provides the largest and richest online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling—over 500 online videos. The collection's wealth of video and multiplicity of perspectives allow students and scholars to see, experience, and study counseling in ways never before possible.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Produced by the Buros Institute, the Mental Measurement Yearbook contains full text information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. Vol 1 (1938) - Vol 18 (2010) are in this database. Also incorporated is Tests in Print, a comprehensive volume describing every test that is currently available. Access is restricted to 4 concurrent users.
- PubMed (NCBI, U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.