Maureen O'Brien - Social Sciences & Psychology Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org | Ph: +612 9772 6408
Last Updated: Mar 2, 2014
Use these resources for finding cases and legislation. The reference e-books provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ProQuest Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
Database includes over 1000 titles, with the majority available in full text. It covers core disciplines across the social sciences including sociology, social work, anthropology, politics and other areas, featuring journals from over 50 countries, facilitating multidisciplinary research and providing researchers with a variety of perspectives. Topics covered include anthropology, communication science, demography, economics, education, political science, policy studies, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
Comprehensive, authoritative collection of material—from international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioural sciences. This database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews.
- SocINDEX with Full Text (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Contains informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. In addition, this file provides data mined from more than 450 "priority" coverage journals as well as from over 2,900 "selective" coverage journals. Also contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, full text for more than 830 books and monographs, and full text for 16,800 conference papers. Extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources is included. Searchable cited references are also provided. features over 25,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. Each author profile includes biographical data and bibliographic information. Coverage: 1895 - Present.
- AFPD - Australian Federal Police Digest (Informit, RMIT)
Covers policing, criminology, law enforcement, law, management, occupational health and safety, and social sciences and is produced by the Australian Federal Police Library, Canberra. Coverage: 1991 - Present.
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit, RMIT)
Covers all aspects of law and is produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. Full text articles: 1999 - Present; Index: 1975 - Present.
- CINCH - Australian Criminology Database (Informit, RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of crime and criminal justice and includes all aspects of crime and criminal justice including corrections, crime, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. Produced by the JV Barry Library, Australian Institute of Criminology. Coverage: 1968 - Present.
- DRUG - Drug Database (Informit, RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on the psychosocial and treatment aspects of alcohol, drug and tobacco use and misuse. Includes social, economic, political, psychological and legal aspects of prevention and treatment of alcohol, tobacco and other drug use and misuse with a strong emphasis on evidence-based practice. Produced by the National Drugs Sector Information Service (NDSIS) of the Alcohol and other Drugs Council of Australia (ADCA). Coverage: 1974 - Present.