Last Updated: Oct 27, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Agricola (Ovid)
Compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) and distributed by the National Technical Information Service of the Department of Commerce of the United States of America, AGRICOLA covers every major agricultural subject including: agricultural administration, laws and regulations, economics, education, training and extension, engineering and products; animal science; aquatic sciences; chemistry; energy as related to agriculture; entomology; feed science; food science and food products; forestry; general agriculture; geography, metorology, climatology and history; home economics and human ecology; human nutrition; institutional food service; life sciences; natural resources management and environmental pollution; pesticides; plant diseases; plant science and production; rural sociology; soil science; and veterinary medicine. Coverage: 1970 - Present.
- ANR-Index Archive - Agriculture and Natural Resources Index Archive (RMIT)
Bibliographic database of older publications on agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Archive: 1975 - June 2007
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Coverage: 1974 - Present.
- Biological Sciences (ProQuest)
Interdisciplinary database which offers abstracts and citations, as well as figures and tables, to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture. Includes information on biomedical and health sciences, science, and science and technology. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- CAB Abstracts (Ovid)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and reports from over 100 countries. Coverage includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental management, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation, tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology and rural development. Coverage: 1973 - current.
- CSIRO Journals (CSIRO)
Publishes journals presenting the latest research by leading Australian and overseas scientists and covering a broad range of subjects.
- Plant Science (ProQuest)
Bibliographic database containing citations and abstracts of scientific literature on plant science. Coverage: 1994 - Present.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.