Last Updated: May 14, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- APA-FT (Informit, RMIT)
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text) is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Full text coverage (500 journals): (1995 -) Index coverage: (1978 -)
- Factiva (Factiva)
Factiva provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts.
- Music Index (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Compiled from over 640 international music periodicals offering the researcher access to historiographic, enthnographic, and musicological data. Subjects include: past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. Coverage: 1979 - current.
- Music Online: Reference (Alexander Street Press)
With Music Online, Alexander Street Press aims to provide the most comprehensive database in streaming audio, video, reference, and scores on the web. Music Online allows users cross search music databases published by Alexander Street Press including African American Music Reference, Classical Music Reference Library, Classical Scores Library Volume 1, and Garland Encyclopedia of World Music.
- Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press w/ Milton S. Eisenhower Library )
Indexes over 40 journals in humanities, social sciences, tourism, culture and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes abstracts and provides access to full text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Includes eBook collections: history; literature; philosophy and religion; political science and policy studies; archaeology and anthropology; film, theatre and performing arts; global cultural studies and higher education.
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Covers literature relevant to psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Includes references and abstracts to conference papers, dissertations, and technical reports in addition to journal articles and monographs. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1987 - current.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (ProQuest)
RILM is compiled by the Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale and is the world's largest bibliography of music, providing international coverage from Eastern and Western classical to pop, folk, and jazz. Coverage 1969 to mid 1997 (complete records with abstracts); mid 1997 -(citations only)