Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Standards On-line Premium (SAI Global)
Provides access to the full contents of all current Australian standards, draft standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia. It includes a section on International standards, and provides industry links to regional and local bodies, as well as international bodies. Frequency: Updated monthly. Access is restricted to 2 concurrent users.
- ChemWatch GoldFFX (ChemWatch)
**Access to this resource not currently available via mobile device.**
Uses a web-based database to provide access to Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS) and draws from a library collection of more than 13 million MSDSs maintained by ChemWatch’s global database system. This program is configured into specific modules and respective functionalities. General access only to the Materials module.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Collection of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL. This authoritative file contains full text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index, with no embargo. CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the core research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature including publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses' Association. Also provides full text for more than 300 books/monographs. Topics covered include nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this database offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals, and book chapters. Coverage: 1937 - Present.
- Health Collection (RMIT)
Covers a range of subjects within a health context including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation, therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. Full text publications: 1977 - Present; Index: 1977 - Present.
- IREL - Australian Industrial Relations Database (RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on industrial relations and related topics. Includes industrial conflict, wages and conditions, labour market economics, equal employment opportunity, labour law, occupational health and safety, workplace reform, enterprise bargaining, and trade union restructuring. Produced by the Library of the Queensland University of Technology (QUT). Archive: 1983 - October 2000.
- MEDLINE without Revisions 1996 to Present (Wolters Kluwer)
Indexes articles from approximately 3.600 journals in medicine, nursing, life sciences, human health and the environment, toxicology, nutrition and other health related topics. Also indexes a selection of conference proceedings. International coverage. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1966 - Present.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.