Last Updated: Oct 26, 2014
- Indigenous (ABC)
New ABC website that replaces and upgrades the Message Stick site.
Key player in the development of the Global Indigenous Internet and Multimedia movement.
- INFOKOORI (State Library NSW)
INFOKOORI (Australian Indigenous Index) is an index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper published in Lismore, NSW, that focuses on the Indigenous people of Australia, from May 1991 to date, and an index to biographical information from Dawn (1952-1969), New Dawn (1970-1975) and Identity (1971-1982). Produced by the State Library of NSW.
- Koori Mail (Koori Mail)
Founded in 1991, the Koori Mail is Australia's oldest Indigenous newspaper. Published fortnightly, It is a source of news and information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, communities and events throughout Australia. It covers general news as well as health, education, employment, culture, the arts, and sport.
- KooriLife (UWS)
Indigenous news and events at UWS.
- Living Black (SBS)
Indigenous current affairs program, Living Black provides timely, intelligent and comprehensive coverage of the issues affecting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians.
- The New Daily
Source of national news and information and is provided free for all Australians. It aims to provide fair, balanced and unbiased coverage of major events around the world and across Australia. Publishes news items throughout the day across desktop, social, mobile and tablet.
- Radio station 4K1G
Kwangi was established in 1972 out of the need to promote and broadcast indigenous news, music, reviews and information and raise awareness of these amongst the broader community.
- Torres News
Weekly newspaper published from the Torres Strait administrative centre of Thursday Island every Wednesday.
For regional and international archives use the tabs above.
- The Australian
Older content also available from Factiva
Library holdings: Microfilm from 1964 to 3 months ago. Latest 3 months available in print.
- Sydney Morning Herald
Sydney newspaper. See catalogue record for online, serials and microfilm resources from 18th April 1831.
Library holdings: Microfilm from 1831 to 3 months ago. Latest 3 months available in print.
- Australian Financial Review
Website of the Australian Financial Review.
Note: Fairfax Business Media have not yet developed an alternative [full-text] electronic product for Australian Financial Review which has pricing, licensing, and access arrangements suitable for academic libraries.
- ABC News Headlines
The ABC is Australia's most trusted, independent source of news.
- The Age
Website of The Age newspaper. Updated daily.
- The Age [Melbourne] (EBSCO)
This Melbourne newspaper has the latest local news on Melbourne, Victoria. Read National News from Australia, World News, Business News and Breaking News stories.
Older content available also from Factiva
- AUSCHRON - A Chronology of Australian Historic & Current Events (RMIT)
Information database which provides a listing of significant events in Australian history with emphasis on current happenings, and covers all topics from politics and law to the arts and sport. Includes Australian historical events in all subject areas with particular reference to significant happenings from 1993 to the present. Coverage: 1992 - Present.
- The Australian
Website of The Australian newspaper. Updated daily.
- ComLaw (Commonwealth of Australia)
ComLaw (Commonwealth Law) provides access to legal and business information as well as major Australian and international newspapers . There is extensive coverage of United States primary and secondary materials including statutes of all states. Major collections of English, French and Canadian law are available as well as other legal materials from Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Scotland, Italy and the European Communities.
- Factiva (ProQuest)
Provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
Note: As of 2 April 2007 the archives for the following business titles were removed from Factiva and all other third-party providers of electronic content: Australian Financial Review, BRW, Financial Review Smart Investor, MIS, CFO, Asset plus the discontinued sources Shares and Personal Investor. Fairfax Digital media have not yet developed an alternative [full-text] electronic product for these business titles which has pricing, licensing, and access arrangements suitable for academic libraries.
- The Guardian (Australian edition)
- Guide to Australian Newspapers
Comprehensive listing of links to national, regional, local and community titles.
Website of the Herald-Sun. Updated daily.
- Lexis.com (LexisNexis)
Provides access to legal and business information as well as major Australian and international newspapers. There is extensive coverage of United States primary and secondary materials including statutes of all states. Major collections of English, French and Canadian law are available as well as other legal materials from Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Scotland, Italy and the European Communities.
- Media Scan (RMIT)
Bibliographic database featuring articles indexed from daily newspapers, and is specifically designed for students and researchers in Australian Secondary schools, TAFE Institutes and Universities. indexes the following newspapers: Sydney Morning Herald (1996-), The Age (1991-), The Australian (1991-), The Herald Sun (1991-), The Bulletin (1991-), The Courier Mail (1995-), Sunday Mail (1994-), Adelaide Advertiser (1997), and West Australian (1996-1997). Archive: 1991 - 30 June 2009.
- PressDisplay (NewspaperDirect)
** This database may not offer the complete full text for every item it indexes. **
Online newspaper kiosk, where you can browse and read hundreds of full content premium newspapers and magazines from around the globe while on campus connected to AirUWS or connected to WiFi off campus. Use the PressReader app to download content on campus for reading offline.
PressDisplay provides instant access to 2000 newspapers from 100 countries in 60 languages. Provides access to thousands of same-day newspapers and magazines from around the world. Content is always up to date and is often available before it is available in print. Publications are presented as digital replicas and features include keyword searching, translation, text-to-voice, article sharing and active links. See User Guide
for more information. Coverage: Current with access to up to 60 days of back issues.
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstand (ProQuest)
Newspapers service which combines key national titles from Fairfax, News Ltd and ABC, with leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand. Allows users to track local, national, world, business, sport, political, technology and entertainment news from their preferred sources, and search the titles individually or collectively. Also included transcripts from the leading current affairs TV and Radio programming.
- TVNews (RMIT)
TVNews is an index of television news and current affairs stories from the Australian free-to-air networks with links to the digitised video content in a compressed format. TVNews is updated daily. Items range from under 30 seconds for short stories, to over an hour for selected documentaries. Key subjects include news, current affairs, politics and government, business and finance, lifestyle, environment, health, science and nature, IT and technology. Coverage: September 2007 - present. Warning: The records in this database may contain names, images, and/or voices of deceased Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people. Compatible with iPad and Android.