Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)
Currently over 40 peer-reviewed journals and magazines, along with books, are published or co-published by the Publications Division, in the area of chemistry, physics and biology, with subscribed titles being available in full text.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE.org, IEEE)
Comprehensive collection of standards and over 400,000 papers from periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 - current.
- ProQuest Science Journals (ProQuest)
Search full text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation. Coverage: 1994 - current.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- Scopus (SciVerse, Elsevier)
Largest abstract and indexing database with access to around 15,000 peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Scopus currently provides access to over 25 million abstracts with coverage dating back to 1966. A citation tracker feature has recently been released. All embase content is available via Scopus. Also indexes more than 1200 open access journals as well as linking with the Scirus search engine to provide access to many reputable institutional or subject repositories.
- Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
Updated weekly. Allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Contains Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Scitation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, SciELO Citation Index, InCites, Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Includes The Book Citation Index to help you search across books, journals and proceedings
- Wiley Online Library (John Wiley & Sons)
Provides online full text access to over 350 journals published by Wiley and Blackwell. Subjects covered include business, finance and management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; engineering; law life and medical sciences; mathematics and statistics; physics and psychology.