Linda Thornely - Computing, Engineering & Mathematics Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org | Ph: +612 9852 5907
Last Updated: Nov 4, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Access Engineering
AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to our engineering collection. Includes 250 engineering books.
- JSTOR (JSTOR, ITHAKA)
JSTOR is an archival repository of full-text journals, covering a range of subject areas. It utilitses a 'moving wall' in the archiving process. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years.
- MathSciNet (American Mathematical Society)
Offers access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature. Over 100,000 new items are added each year, most of them classified according to the Mathematics Subject Classification.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- SpringerLink (Springer)
Access to over 1800 journal titles and over 20,000 ebooks published from 2005 onwards.
- Wiley Online Library (John Wiley & Sons)
Wiley Online Library provides online full text access to over 350 journals published by Wiley and Blackwell. Subjects covered include business, finance and management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; engineering; law life and medical sciences; mathematics and statistics; physics and psychology