Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and industry and market reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
The AdForum Creative Network is a comprehensive library of over 150,000 award-winning advertisements produced worldwide. Watch, listen and read through the catalogue of television, web radio, and print ads, as well as individual case studies of high profile works. Agency professionals are uploading over 300 of their newest and best ads each week.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- EDGE (RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles that provide international coverage on management, environmental, packaging and building topics. Includes strategic and financial management techniques; human resources; Asian economies; energy efficiency; recycling; packaging trends and methods for glass, plastic, metal and paper; and building products and trends. Packaging issues for end use markets such as food and beverages. Produced by Information Edge. Archive: 1985 - May 2007.
- Emerald Insight (Emerald)
The full text electronic management research library database is produced by MCB University Press. The database contains over 25,000 management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles from over 150 journals. Emerald also offers online access to ebook series titles in the subject areas of business, management, economics and the social sciences.
- Factiva (ProQuest)
Provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)
Integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets and companies. It provides users with historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstand (ProQuest)
Newspapers service which combines key national titles from Fairfax, News Ltd and ABC, with leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand. Allows users to track local, national, world, business, sport, political, technology and entertainment news from their preferred sources, and search the titles individually or collectively. Also included transcripts from the leading current affairs TV and Radio programming.
- WARC (WARC)
WARC (World Advertising Research Center) online is a source of intelligence for the marketing, advertising, media and research communities worldwide, drawn from more than 30 international sources. This spans over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries, augmented with best practice papers, practical guides, daily news, email bulletins, statistical data and more. Includes campaign videos.