Last Updated: May 1, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- Business Collection (Informit, RMIT)
Covers a range of subjects within a business context including cover all broad business fields, including accounting, career development, commercial law, commodities, corporate governance, e-business, economics, employment, human resources, labour, management, marketing, occupational health, taxation, and unions. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. Full text publications: 1993 - Present; Index: 1993 - Present.
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and industry and market reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- Academic OneFile (InfoTrac, Gale)
Includes peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources, with extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects. Articles are available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions. Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily. Coverage: 1980 - Present.
- Emerald Insight (Emerald Group Publishing Limited)
The full text electronic management research library database is produced by MCB University Press. The database contains over 25,000 management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles from over 150 journals. Emerald also offers online access to ebook series titles in the subject areas of business, management, economics and the social sciences.
- AIMMAT - AIM Management & Training Database (Informit, RMIT)
Covers topics in management including training, human resources, communication and marketing. Specific examples include organisational change, competency-based training, total quality, workplace relations and enterprise bargaining, customer service, export, employee communication, leadership, business ethics, and work family. Many case studies are also included in the database. Produced by the Library of the Australian Institute of Management NSW Training Centre Limited. Archive: 1991 - 2010
- Factiva (ProQuest)
Provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
- SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SRMO's taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content.