Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Australian legal databases of electronic legal information, including cases, legislation, commentary services and journals.
- AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)
Provides free access to Australasian Acts, Cases, some journals, Law Reform Commission reports and articles.
- Checkpoint (Thomson Reuters)
Australian Product Case citator. Search or browse cases for details and digest. Search across tax, accounting, finance and trade content you often won’t find anywhere else. See everything related to your topic at a glance – source materials, analysis, tools, and news.
- GovPubs: The Australian Government Publications Guide
GovPubs is a guide to selected types of Australian government publications, such as Acts, Hansards, Gazettes and Parliamentary Papers, located in Australia's National, State and Territory libraries or available on the Internet. A historical description of each publication is provided, and holdings information will enable you to locate resources in each library or online.
- IntelliConnect (Wolters Kluwer)
This major Australian legal publisher produces an online database covering nearly all of its published titles. Over 400 individual titles are fully searchable, as well as the large number of commentary sources. Intelliconnect extensively covers commercial and company law, business law, taxation, property, torts, family and industrial law. In addition, Intelliconnect extensively covers general business and commerce areas, including accountancy, employment, human resources and management.
- LexisNexis.au (Australian) (LexisNexis)
This comprehensive Australian legal publisher database covers all aspects of Australian law, including case law, legislation, commentary, law journals and reference resources. Significant resources include Halsbury’s Laws of Australia (one of only 2 Australian legal encyclopaedias), and Casebase (the database of Australian case law, reports and legal articles).
- Westlaw AU (Thomson Reuters)
Westlaw AU contains Australian legislation, case law, commentary, journals, news and precedents. Includes the National Construction Code.
International legal databases of electronic legal information, including cases, legislation, commentary services and journals.
- GlobaLex: Foreign, Comparative and International Law Research
GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. Published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.
GlobaLex is committed to the dissemination of high-level international, foreign, and comparative law research tools in order to accommodate the needs of an increasingly global educational and practicing legal world.
- HeinOnline (William S. Hein)
HeinOnline provides researchers with electronic, searchable access to collections of the earliest legal periodicals, legal classics and older law reviews.
- Lexis.com (LexisNexis)
Provides access to legal and business information as well as major Australian and international newspapers. There is extensive coverage of United States primary and secondary materials including statutes of all states. Major collections of English, French and Canadian law are available as well as other legal materials from Australia, New Zealand, Ireland, Scotland, Italy and the European Communities.
- SSRN - Legal Scholarship Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) Legal Scholarship Network is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of legal research. Contents includes journals, e-journals, conference papers, reserach papers, working papers and reviews.
- Westlaw International (Thomson Reuters)
Westlaw International is Thomson Legal and Regulatory's (TLR) international online legal research tool. This database provides full text access to case law, statutes, administrative materials, annotated reports, law reviews, current affairs etc from the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, Europe, Hong Kong and Australasia. It combines materials from renowned content providers such as Sweet & Maxwell, ELLIS Publications, Lawbook Co, Carswell, and West Group.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-resources page