Last Updated: Nov 4, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- A+ Education (Informit, RMIT)
Provides online access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education. A+ Education is based on 'AEI', the Australian Education. Subjects: Includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Content: 200+ journals. Coverage: Full text: 2000- ; Index: 1978-
- Communication Abstracts (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Formerly produced by Sage Publications, Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline. Over 250 titles are now presented with cover-to-cover coverage.
- DELTAA (Informit, RMIT)
The DELTAA database on English Language Teaching for Adults in Australasia database: includes indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on English second language learning and teaching in Australasia. Subject coverage includes adult basic education, adult immigrant education, Adult Migrant English Program, applied linguistics, cross cultural communication, English in the workplace, literacy, second language instruction and learning. Coverage: 1985 - 2008.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
ERIC is the U.S. national bibliographic database covering the literature of education. The database consists of two files: the Resources in Education (RIE) file of document citations and the Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE) file of journal article citations from over 750 professional journals. In addition, ERIC now contains over 850 ERIC Digest records that feature the full text of the original document. Coverage: 1982 - current.
- Linguistics and Language Behavioural Abstracts (LLBA) (ProQuest)
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in linguistics and related disciplines in the language sciences. The database covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500 serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations. Coverage: 1973 - current.
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts.
- IELTS (Road to IELTS)
Road to IELTS is your best possible online preparation and practice resource for IELTS. With over 120 hours of interactive activities, advice videos from British Council experts, hints and tips on question types as well as downloadable practice tests, it is comprehensive, up-to-date and aimed precisely at the challenges candidates face.