Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate
fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS
catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page.
- Index Islamicus (ProQuest)
Indexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. It is produced by an editorial team working at the School of Oriental and African Studies in London, established to transmit knowledge about Islamic and Middle East studies, which have traditionally been part of the curriculum of SOAS. Records included in the database cover almost 100 years of publications on the world of Islam. Material cited in the Index Islamicus includes not only work written about the Middle East, but also about the other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, plus Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 3,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Journals and books are indexed down to the article and chapter level.
- Oxford Islamic Studies Online (Oxford University Press)
Encompassing over 3,000 A-Z reference entries, chapters from scholarly and introductory works, Qur'anic materials, primary sources, images, and timelines, Oxford Islamic Studies Online offers a multi-layered reference experience designed to provide a first stop for anyone needing information on Islam.
- Brill Online (Brill)
Brill Online is among the richest scholarly sources of its kind, with the full text of more than 2400 e-books and 175 journals covering the Humanities, International Law and Biology. The platform contains over 150,000 book chapters and journal articles, and is updated daily.
- ISEAS (Institute of Southeast Asian Studies)
Over 350 ebooks from the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS). Based in Singapore, ISEAS is a regional research centre dedicated to the study of socio-political, security and economic trends and developments in Southeast Asia and its wider geostrategic and economic environment. Includes a significant amount of content in the area of Islamic studies as well as covering business, finance and politics in the region.
- Archives Unbound (Gale)
Topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the Middle Ages forward-from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth-century political history. Subject-specific collections support multidisciplinary research in history, political science, hard science, ethnic studies and more. Provides access to the following databases: Iraq, 1914-1974 and Middle East Online: Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970.
- Iraq, 1914-1974: The Middle East Online (GALE) [See Archives Unbound]
- Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online: Series 1 (GALE) [See Archives Unbound]
- Religion (ProQuest)
Includes over 190 titles - an excellent source of religious news and information. The database provides details on doctrines and philosophies, reports on religious history, and related archaeology. It also covers formal theological studies and commentary on topics of general interest from the perspectives of specific religions. Primary faiths represented in the database are Christianity, Islam, Judaism, and Buddhism. Coverage: Indexing from 1986 -; Full text 1992 - current.
- Alexander Street Anthropology (Alexander Street Press)
A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference work. Content can be shared via embeddable links; user-created playlists and clips, with annotation features and ability to incorporate content from outside the collection, and more.