Linda Thornely - Computing, Engineering & Mathematics Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org | Ph: +612 9852 5907
Last Updated: Nov 12, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- AccessEngineering (The McGraw-Hill Companies)
AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to our engineering collection. Includes 250 engineering books.
- Academic OneFile (Infotrac, GALE)
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
- APA-FT (Informit, RMIT)
APAFT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text) is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Full text coverage (500 journals): (1995 -) Index coverage: (1978 -)
- BuildingGreen Suite (BuildingGreen, Inc.) [replaces BuildingGreen.com]
Authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest)
DAAI is an international index to abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Includes 212,000+ records. Coverage: 1973 - Current.
- Engineering Village (Compendex) (Elsevier Information, Elsevier Inc.)
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of research literature for engineering, computing, mathematics and related disciplines. The database contains references to over 5000 engineering journals and conferences. Coverage : 1884 - current.
- ENGINE (Informit, RMIT)
ENGINE (Australian Engineering database) covers Australian engineering information including: agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, earthquake, education, electrical, electronic, geotechnical, management, materials, mechanical, military, ocean, railway, structural, transport, tunnelling and water and is produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia. 39297 records; 1980 -
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.