UWS Indigenous Links
- Badanami Centre for Indigenous Education
- KooriLIfe NewsletterSpring 2011 - Indigenous news & events at UWS.
- Indigenous Education at UWS
- School of Humanities and Communication Arts
Reference Resources
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics
- Bringing them home: report of the national inquiry into the separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children from their families
- Closing the gap: Prime Minister's report 2010
- Indigenous rights and United Nations standards:self-determination, culture and land.
E-Journals
This is a list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Relevant Article Databases
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the fulltext or a link to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ATSIDA: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Archive (UTS - CRICOS )ATSIDA contains digital data generated by researchers working with Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and issues. This archive collects often dispersed data and manages it in accordance with appropriate protocols, drawing on the expertise jointly developed by Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning and the UTS Library.
- Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements DatabaseThe ATNS database links together current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas.
- AIATSIS - Indigenous Studies BibliographyCovers published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies and is compiled by Pat Brady, Barry Cundy and Alana Garwood at the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. 1990 - present
- ATSISCovers legal issues such as land rights, native title, customary law, Aboriginal deaths in custody, Aborigines in the criminal justice system, racial discrimination, indigenous intellectual property, and Aboriginal youth and juvenile justice, and is produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra.
- Black WordsBlack Words provides access to both general and specific information about Indigenous literary cultures and traditions, providing definitions and articulations of what Black writing and Indigenous literatures are. Black Words also contains records describing published and unpublished books, stories, plays, poems and criticism associated with eligible writers and storytellers and includes works in English and in Indigenous languages.
- Family and Society PlusCovers research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families and is produced by the Australian Institute of Family Studies. 70,000 records; Full text articles: 2000- ; Index: 1980 - current.
- INFOKOORI (State Library of New South Wales)An index to the Koori Mail, a national fortnightly newspaper published in Lismore, NSW, that focuses on the Indigenous people of Australia, from May 1991 to date. It is also an index to biographical information from various magazines including: Our Aim (1907–1961), Dawn (1952–1969), New Dawn (1970–1975) and Identity (1971–1982). Other historical information about Aboriginal people and communities, from newspapers published in NSW, is also being added to INFOKOORI.
- Indigenous Collection (Informit, RMIT)The Informit Indigenous Collection gives access to emergent and ground breaking research within the global community. With material from Australia, Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, North America and The Pacific, which normally is not easily located in standard resources, IIC is a platform for Indigenous worldviews.
Coverage: Full text publications: 1977- ; Index: 1977-
Records: 11,000+ - Koori Mail (Koori Mail)Founded in 1991, the Koori Mail is Australia's oldest Indigenous newspaper. Published fortnightly, It is a source of news and information on Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people, communities and events throughout Australia. It covers general news as well as health, education, employment, culture, the arts, and sport.
Need help? |

Loading...
