Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and industry and market reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- Tourism, Hospitality and Leisure (Infotrac, Gale)
With relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this collection provides coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the industry.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- CAB Abstracts (OvidSP, Ovid, Wolters Kluwer)
Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters, conference papers and reports from over 100 countries. Coverage includes agronomy, biotechnology, crop protection, dairy science, economics, environmental management, genetics, herbicides, irrigation, leisure, recreation, tourism, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology and rural development. Coverage: 1973 - current.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)
Integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets and companies. It provides users with historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.
- ATI - Australian Tourism Index (Informit, RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on tourism and related fields and includes information on leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and travel. Produced by the Department of Hospitality, Tourism and Marketing, Victoria University of Technology. Archive: 1982 - June 2000.