Last Updated: Apr 30, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
- FORENSICnetBASE (Taylor & Francis)
Featuring works by esteemed criminologists and forensic practitioners, this unparalleled e-library boasts an ever-growing number of essential references in crisis management and negotiation methods, arson and homicide investigation, expert witnessing, and forensic pathology.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit, RMIT)
Covers all aspects of law and is produced by the AGIS Section of the Lionel Murphy Library, Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department in Canberra. Full text articles: 1999 - Present; Index: 1975 - Present.
- APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit, RMIT)
Provides full text coverage of scholarly articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. As from January 2014, APAFT will be brought into line with the content delivery model of the Informit Collections. In particular, for new content, users will benefit from: freely available metadata, higher quality pdf files, shorter duration between journal publication and availability, cover-to-cover full text content and improved indexing. APAFT content will be fully migrated to the Informit Collections model by March 2014. Full text articles: 1995 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
- Biological Sciences (ProQuest)
Interdisciplinary database which offers abstracts and citations, as well as figures and tables, to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology, and some aspects of agriculture. Includes information on biomedical and health sciences, science, and science and technology. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- ProQuest Biological Science Collection (ProQuest)
Contains biological science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Biological Sciences database. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, Biological Sciences provides access to literature from serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents. Coverage: 1974 - Present.
- Health Collection (RMIT)
Covers a range of subjects within a health context including ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation, therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health, mental health, complementary therapies, and health services management. This full text Collection contains journals, books, conference proceedings and reports. Full text publications: 1977 - Present; Index: 1977 - Present.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- SciFinder Scholar (cas, American Chemical Society) [first time user Registration]
SciFinder Scholar registration link.
- Scopus (SciVerse, Elsevier)
Largest abstract and indexing database with access to around 15,000 peer-reviewed titles in health, sciences, engineering, social sciences, psychology, and economics. Scopus currently provides access to over 25 million abstracts with coverage dating back to 1966. A citation tracker feature has recently been released. All embase content is available via Scopus. Also indexes more than 1200 open access journals as well as linking with the Scirus search engine to provide access to many reputable institutional or subject repositories.
- Web of Science (Thomson Reuters)
Updated weekly. Allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Contains Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Scitation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, SciELO Citation Index, InCites, Journal Citation Reports and Essential Science Indicators. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Includes The Book Citation Index to help you search across books, journals and proceedings