Last Updated: Apr 11, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
The Curriculum Collection is a special collection within the UWS Library comprised of easy books; junior fiction; classroom resources; and syllabus, support and policy documents.
Curriculum Collections are located at Penrith (Ward) campus library and Bankstown campus library. If you are searching for these materials, you can limit the results to items held in the Curriculum Collection, using the 'more' link under Library Location, on the left side of your search results.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Education Research Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Topics covered include early childhood to higher education, multilingual education, health education, testing, curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,300 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,400 journals. This database also includes full text for nearly 550 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.
- A + Education (Informit, RMIT)
A+ Education brings together over thirty years of journal content as indexed by the Australian Council for Educational Research (ACER). Content covers all aspects of learning and literacy from early childhood through to tertiary and adult learning.
- ERIC (ProQuest)
The ERIC database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
- Education Journals (ProQuest)
ProQuest® Education Journals gives access to around 900 top educational publications, including more than 600 of the titles in full text. The collection covers literature on primary, secondary, and higher education, special education, home schooling, adult education, and hundreds of related topics.
- Education in Video (Alexander Street Press)
An international collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. Includes hundreds of in-classroom videos on key teaching topics and themes, allowing students to access a diverse array of learning environments. Many of the videos in this collection include supplementary materials which are available as downloadable pdf files.
- Educators (Infotrac, GALE)
This collection covers the latest technologies, developments, instruction and coaching breakthroughs as well as background information on child health and development.
- Taylor and Francis Online (Taylor and Francis Group)
The Taylor and Francis online journal collection contains more than 1000 full text online journals published across a wide range of subjects.
- SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is an award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. SAGE Research Methods' taxonomy of over 1,400 methods terms links to authoritative content.
- AUSTLIT: The Australian Literature Resource (AUSTLIT)
Indexes creative and critical writing by or about Australian creative authors. Children's literature is included (see the Children's Literature Digital Resources (CLDR) project). Also lists awards, prizes and grants. Comprehensive coverage from 1988+
- PsycINFO (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Covers literature relevant to psychology and the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. Includes references and abstracts to conference papers, dissertations, and technical reports in addition to journal articles and monographs. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,300 periodicals written in over 25 languages. Coverage: 1987 - current.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
- Last Updated Oct 21, 2012
A list of the main ebook platforms.
171 views this year