Last Updated: Oct 21, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and industry and market reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- DatAnalysis Premium [Incl. Annual Reports Online] (Morningstar)
Provides up-to-date financial information for all Australian ASX listed and delisted companies and is updated daily. Find detailed historical financial data from more than 50,000 annual reports going back to 1990, and interim and delisted data going back to 1996. Incorporates FinAnalysis data (listed company financial history and analysis). To access Annual Reports Online data, go to Search Tool / ASX Announcements (PDF) Search / Section B – select Periodic Reports, then Annual Reports. Then you can define your start and finish date for the report. Annual Reports data provides access to Australian companies' annual reports dating back to 1995. It also provides access to the full documentation of Australian Stock Exchange announcements from October 1998 to today, including prospectuses. These announcements are updated continually throughout the day.
- EconLit (EBSCO)
Provides links to full-text articles in all fields of economics, including capital markets, country studies, econometrics, economic forecasting, environmental economics, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics, and much more. EconLit uses the JEL classification system and controlled vocabulary of keywords to index six types of records: journal articles, books, collective volume articles, dissertations, working papers, and full-text book reviews from the Journal of Economic Literature. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- FinAnalysis (Aspect Huntley, HII, Morningstar, Inc.) [see DatAnalysis Premium)
- International Financial Statistics (International Monetary Fund) [see eLibrary (IMF) in Statistics library guide]
- ProQuest Australia & New Zealand Newsstand (ProQuest)
Newspapers service which combines key national titles from Fairfax, News Ltd and ABC, with leading regional and local sources from Australia and New Zealand. Allows users to track local, national, world, business, sport, political, technology and entertainment news from their preferred sources, and search the titles individually or collectively. Also included transcripts from the leading current affairs TV and Radio programming.
- OECD iLibrary (OECD)
Provides access to the full text of all monographs, reports, studies and periodicals produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Topics covered include: agriculture and food; education and skills; emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry and trade; environment and sustainable development; finance and investment; general economics and future studies; goverance; international development; nuclear energy.
- OECD Commonwealth iLibrary (OECD)
The Commonwealth Secretariat’s publications are a key part of the organisation’s mission to work as a trusted partner for all Commonwealth people as a force for peace, democracy, equality and good governance; a catalyst for global consensus-building; and a source of assistance for sustainable development and poverty eradication. Titles are organised by series, year and alphabetically, and search and discovery of complete publications or even their components – articles and chapters – is a click away.