Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- APAFT - Australian Public Affairs - Full Text (Informit, RMIT)
Provides full text coverage of scholarly articles on current affairs, economics, humanities, law, literature, politics and social sciences. As from January 2014, APAFT will be brought into line with the content delivery model of the Informit Collections. In particular, for new content, users will benefit from: freely available metadata, higher quality pdf files, shorter duration between journal publication and availability, cover-to-cover full text content and improved indexing. APAFT content will be fully migrated to the Informit Collections model by March 2014. Full text articles: 1995 - Present; Index: 1978 - Present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (Web of Science, Thomson Reuters)
Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- MAIS - Multicultural Australia and Immigration Studies (Informit, RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts a wide range of media from published and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian immigration and multicultural issues. Includes immigration, emigration, multiculturalism, ethnicity, racism, multicultural education, migrant health, welfare and social services, access and equity, settlement services, refugees, population studies, and aboriginal studies. Some international material is included. From August 1996 the focus has narrowed to Australian material only. Produced by the Department of Immigration and Citizenship (DIAC) Library. Coverage: 1988 - Present.
- AUSTLIT: The Australian Literature Resource (AUSTLIT)
Indexes creative and critical writing by or about Australian creative authors. Children's literature is included (see the Children's Literature Digital Resources (CLDR) project). Also lists awards, prizes and grants. Comprehensive coverage from 1988+
- Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press w/ Milton S. Eisenhower Library )
Indexes over 40 journals in humanities, social sciences, tourism, culture and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes abstracts and provides access to full text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Includes eBook collections: history; literature; philosophy and religion; political science and policy studies; archaeology and anthropology; film, theatre and performing arts; global cultural studies and higher education.
- ProQuest Central (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, periodical, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market and industry reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.