Linda Thornely - Computing, Engineering & Mathematics Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org | Ph: +612 9852 5907
Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)
Collection of full-text articles and bibliographic records covering the fields of computing and information technology. The full-text database includes the complete collection of ACM's publications, including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles and currently consists of 391,000 full-text articles, 44+ journals, 275+ conference proceedings, eight magazines, 37 technical newsletters, 5,805+ video files, and 594 audio files. Coverage: 1985 - Present.
- Emerald Insight (Emerald)
The full text electronic management research library database is produced by MCB University Press. The database contains over 25,000 management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles from over 150 journals. Emerald also offers online access to ebook series titles in the subject areas of business, management, economics and the social sciences.
- IEEE Xplore (IEEE)
Comprehensive collection of standards and over 400,000 papers from periodicals and conferences published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). Coverage: 1988 - current.
- ProQuest Central (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, periodical, dissertations, conference proceedings, and market and industry reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- Safari Books Online (ProQuest)
Provides complete, full-text access to over 32,000 professional ebooks on subjects such as business, desktop and web applications, digital media, engineering, information technology and software development, math and science, and personal and professional development. Vendors include Prentice Hall, John Wiley and Sons, Pearson Certification, Manning, McGraw-Hill and Project Management Institute.
- ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- Wiley Online Library (John Wiley & Sons)
Provides online full text access to over 350 journals published by Wiley and Blackwell. Subjects covered include business, finance and management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; engineering; law life and medical sciences; mathematics and statistics; physics and psychology.