Last Updated: Oct 16, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
The Library subscribes to databases to provide you access to sources which are usually not freely available via the World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and locate a range of information. A comprehensive listing of databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- IBISWorld (IBISWorld)
Comprehensive collection of Industry Market Research, Industry Risk Ratings and Company Research. Includes access to Australia Industry Reports (ANZSIC), Global Industry Reports, Australia Business Environment Profiles, and Australia Company Reports
- Annual Reports Online - see DatAnalysis Premium (Morningstar)
- Hoover's Company Records
Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives. Hoover's, widely recognized as a leading provider of corporate data, delivers in depth industry analyses, information on a company's location, summary financials, top competitors, top officers, and more.
- Factiva (ProQuest)
Provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- OECD iLibrary (OECD)
Provides access to the full text of all monographs, reports, studies and periodicals produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). Topics covered include: agriculture and food; education and skills; emerging economics; employment; energy; enterprise, industry and trade; environment and sustainable development; finance and investment; general economics and future studies; goverance; international development; nuclear energy.
- Passport GMID (Euromonitor International)
Integrated database providing key business intelligence on countries, markets and companies. It provides users with historical statistics and forecasts, analysis of consumers' lifestyles, information sources, brand and company information, plus full-text market analysis.
- DatAnalysis Premium [Incl. Annual Reports Online] (Morningstar)
Provides up-to-date financial information for all Australian ASX listed and delisted companies and is updated daily. Find detailed historical financial data from more than 50,000 annual reports going back to 1990, and interim and delisted data going back to 1996. Incorporates FinAnalysis data (listed company financial history and analysis). To access Annual Reports Online data, go to Search Tool / ASX Announcements (PDF) Search / Section B – select Periodic Reports, then Annual Reports. Then you can define your start and finish date for the report. Annual Reports data provides access to Australian companies' annual reports dating back to 1995. It also provides access to the full documentation of Australian Stock Exchange announcements from October 1998 to today, including prospectuses. These announcements are updated continually throughout the day.
- FinAnalysis (Aspect Huntley, HII, Morningstar, Inc.) [see DatAnalysis Premium)