Last Updated: May 14, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Communication Abstracts (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Formerly produced by Sage Publications, Communication Abstracts is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Containing over 235,000 records, Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline. Over 250 titles are now presented with cover-to-cover coverage.
- Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
- Social Science Journals (ProQuest)
Wilson's Social Sciences Index with full-text and images. Disciplines covered include addiction studies, gerontology, econometrics, international relations, minority studies, urban studies, art and more. Full text available. International with American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 - ( indexing from 1971).
- MLA International Bibliography (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
MLA International Bibliography is an index of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1963 and contains over 1.5 million citations from more than 4,400 journals and series and 1,000 book publishers. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts.
- Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press w/ Milton S. Eisenhower Library )
Indexes over 40 journals in humanities, social sciences, tourism, culture and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes abstracts and provides access to full text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Includes eBook collections: history; literature; philosophy and religion; political science and policy studies; archaeology and anthropology; film, theatre and performing arts; global cultural studies and higher education.
- WARC (WARC)
WARC (World Advertising Research Center) online is a source of intelligence for the marketing, advertising, media and research communities worldwide, drawn from more than 30 international sources. This spans over 25,000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries, augmented with best practice papers, practical guides, daily news, email bulletins, statistical data and more.
- Factiva (Factiva)
Factiva provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
- Australia & New Zealand Newsstand (ProQuest)
Access the full text of all major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.