Last Updated: Nov 4, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)
Currently, over 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines are published or co-published by the Publications Division, in the area of chemistry and related sciences, with subscribed titles being available in full text.
- CHEMnetBase (CRCnetBASE, Taylor & Francis Group)
CHEMnetBASE provides fulltext online access to major reference resources in chemistry from CRC. Resources included are: Dictionary of Drugs Dictionary of Natural Products Dictionary of Organic and Organmetallic Compounds Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics and Polymers.
- ChemWatch (Chemgold III, Chemgold)
ChemWatch is updated daily. It holds safety, toxicological and physical data on over 28,000 pure chemicals and 60,000 mixtures or trade name products. These include paints, glues, thinners, cutting oils/fluids, cleaning chemicals, photographic chemicals etc. Includes an MSDS (Material Safety Data Sheets) database.
- RSC Journals (Royal Society of Chemistry)
Scientific publisher of biology, biophysics, chemical science, materials, medicinal drug discovery and physics high-impact journals and books. This resource includes access to peer-reviewed journals, magazines, books, databases and publishing services to the chemical science community. Coverage extends back to 1941.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- SciFinder Link to Register for first time User (cas, American Chemical Society)
SciFinder Scholar provides an easy to use interface to the complete Chemical Abstracts database, back to 1901. It is accompanied by Medline, which is available back to the early 1960s. Chemical Abstracts coverage includes journal articles, conference papers, book chapters and patents in all areas of general, inorganic and organic chemistry, and all fields of applied chemistry.
- Web of Science (Web of Knowledge, Thomson Reuters)
Updated weekly. Allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1987. Updated weekly, it allows users to search current and retrospective information from nearly 8,500 journals, across more than 230 disciplines. Also allows cited reference searching to track a paper's influence. Includes The Book Citation Index to help you search across books, journals and proceedings
- Wiley Online Library (John Wiley & Sons)
Wiley Online Library provides online full text access to over 350 journals published by Wiley and Blackwell. Subjects covered include business, finance and management; chemistry; computer science; earth science; engineering; law life and medical sciences; mathematics and statistics; physics and psychology