Linda Thornely - Computing, Engineering & Mathematics Librarian | firstname.lastname@example.org | Ph: +612 9852 5907
Last Updated: May 5, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Access Engineering
AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to our engineering collection. Includes 250 engineering books.
- BCA (Building Code of Australia ) (Westlaw AU)
Links to the latest BCA requirements (Housing Provisions and Class 2 to 9 Buildings), which are included in the Building Service NSW section of Westlaw AU.
- BUILD - Australian Building Construction and Engineering Database (Informit, RMIT)
Coverage includes all aspects of building, construction and engineering; building research; building materials; building services; structural engineering; building regulations; urban and regional planning; and fire technology. Also covered are aspects of economics; administration; and management and information technology as they relate to building and construction. Produced by the Building Information Resource Centre of CSIRO Building, Construction and Engineering. Archive: 1989 - February 2002.
- BuildingGreen Suite (BuildingGreen, Inc.)
Authoritative online resource for reliable content on sustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- Emerald Insight (Emerald Group Publishing Limited)
The full text electronic management research library database is produced by MCB University Press. The database contains over 25,000 management, operations, HR, marketing, library, training and engineering articles from over 150 journals. Emerald also offers online access to ebook series titles in the subject areas of business, management, economics and the social sciences.
- ENGINE - Australian Engineering Database (Informit, RMIT)
Bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on Australian engineering information, particularly information published by the Institution since 1980. Includes all branches of engineering including agricultural, aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, coastal, computer, earthquake, education, electrical, electronic, geotechnical, management, materials, mechanical, military, ocean, railway, structural, transport, tunnelling and water. Produced by the Institution of Engineers, Australia. Coverage: 1980 - Present.
- Standards On-line Premium (SAI Global)
Provides access to the full contents of all current Australian standards, draft standards and most handbooks published by Standards Australia. It includes a section on International standards, and provides industry links to regional and local bodies, as well as international bodies. Frequency: Updated monthly. Access is restricted to 2 concurrent users.