Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- ARCH - Australian Architecture Database (Informit, RMIT)
Covers architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture and is produced by the Stanton Library, North Sydney Council. Coverage: 1980 - Present.
- Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
Database provides full-text coverage of 380 periodicals and more than 220 books. In addition, this database offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 780 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as for over 230 books. Art & Architecture Complete also provides selective coverage for 70 additional publications and an Image Collection of over 63,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others. Topics covered include pertinent subjects such as antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and much more.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (ProQuest)
Bibliographic database covers all art forms, including fine art, digital art, crafts, design and photography. Features full abstracts and indexing from art journals published from the late 1960s onwards. Also incorporates book records, including those drawn from the collections of the Tate Library and the Bibliothèque Dominique Bozo, Musée LAM. Coverage: 1974 - Present.
- Bibliography of the History of Art
BHA offers both basic and advanced search modules, and can be searched easily by subject, artist, author, article or journal title, and other elements. Note that the database search includes both BHA (covering 1990-2007) and the International Bibliography of Art (IBA), covering the years 2008 and part of 2009. Also the Répertoire de la litterature de l’art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, has records that cover 1975-1989.
- Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) (ProQuest)
Database includes abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. Covers both new designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century, surveying disciplines including ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture. Coverage: 1973 - Current.
- JSTOR (JSTOR, ITHAKA)
JSTOR is an archival repository of full-text journals, covering a range of subject areas. It utilitses a 'moving wall' in the archiving process. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years.
- Project MUSE (Johns Hopkins University Press w/ Milton S. Eisenhower Library )
Indexes over 40 journals in humanities, social sciences, tourism, culture and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press. Includes abstracts and provides access to full text of more than 100 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Includes eBook collections: history; literature; philosophy and religion; political science and policy studies; archaeology and anthropology; film, theatre and performing arts; global cultural studies and higher education.
- UWS Art Collection and Gallery
The University of Western Sydney's art collection of approximately 1,000 objects was formed from the holdings of its former network members, Hawkesbury, Macarthur and Nepean. It comprises of a diverse range of paintings, works on paper, photographs, mixed media sculptures and ceramics. Primarily Australian artists from the 20th Century have been acquired particularly from the 1970's onward. Past and present staff and students are also represented within the collection, as well as local artists from the Hawkesbury, Macarthur and Nepean regions of Greater Western Sydney.