Last Updated: May 14, 2013
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
This is list of some important journals relating to this subject area. Additional print and electronic journals can be located via the Library Search Box.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- BioMed Central (BioMed Central Ltd.)
BioMed Central offers online publishing of research articles in all areas of biomedical research with full peer review and no barriers to access of any kind.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,160 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. This resource has an unlimited concurrent user level.
- Cochrane Library (John Wiley & Sons, Ltd.)
The Cochrane Library is a unique source of reliable and up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care. Published on a quarterly basis, The Cochrane Library is designed to provide information and evidence to support decisions taken in health care and to inform those receiving care. The Cochrane Library consists of a regularly updated collection of evidence-based medicine databases.
- Best Practice (incorporating Clinical Evidence) (BMJ Evidence Centre, BMJ Publishing Group)
A point-of-care tool from the BMJ Evidence Centre designed to support clinicians in their decision making from diagnosis to treatment. Best Practice aims to be a readily accessible single source for up-to-date research evidence, guidelines, and expert thought, offering an instantly available second opinion. Clinical Evidence describes the best available evidence from systematic reviews, RTCs, and observational studies where appropriate. Drug information is provided via the database Martindale.
- eTG complete (Therapeutic Guidelines Ltd.)
eTG complete provides searchable on-line access to all 11 volumes of Therapeutic Guidelines.Therapeutic Guidelines are disease-oriented guidelines for prescribing and give clear, practical and succinct recommendations for therapy. They are prepared in Australia primarily for Australian conditions. Non-drug options are given when appropriate. The guidance is derived from the best available scientific evidence.
- Health Collection (Informit, RMIT)
Content includes research articles, reports and case studies of practical support to anyone studying or working in therapeutic, diagnostic and preventative health roles. Many titles included in the Collection are unavailable elsewhere online, including journals dedicated to specialist and current topics of interest such as ageing and age care, child health and breastfeeding, indigenous health issues, mental health and rehabilitation. Full text publications: 1977- ; Index: 1977-
- MEDLINE without Revisions 1996 to Present (OvidSP, Wolters Kluwer)
Indexes articles from approximately 3.600 journals in medicine, nursing, life sciences, human health and the environment, toxicology, nutrition and other health related topics. Also indexes a selection of conference proceedings. International coverage. Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Includes abstracts. Updated weekly. Coverage: 1966 - This resource has a 10 concurrent user limit.
- PubMed (NCBI, U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Contains the National Library of Medicine's search service that provides access to over 11 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and other related databases, with links to participating online journals.
- ScienceDirect (SciVerse, Elsevier)
ScienceDirect is a full text database for scientific research in the life, physical, medical, technical, and social sciences. Online content includes journals, books and reference titles with multiple user access.
- SciFinder Scholar (cas, American Chemical Society)
SciFinder Scholar provides an easy to use interface to the complete Chemical Abstracts database, back to 1901. It is accompanied by Medline, which is available back to the early 1960s. Chemical Abstracts coverage includes journal articles, conference papers, book chapters and patents in all areas of general, inorganic and organic chemistry, and all fields of applied chemistry.