Last Updated: Feb 17, 2014
Dictionaries and encyclopedias are a good starting point when researching a topic as they provide definitions, explanations or general overviews.
Journal articles often provide the most current and authoritative
research on a topic. The Library subscribes to databases to provide you
access to these sources which are usually not freely available via the
World Wide Web. You can search databases on your chosen topic and
locate fulltext articles, abstracts of articles or citations. Check the
UWS catalogue by journal title if the database does not give you the
fulltext or a linkage to fulltext elsewhere. A comprehensive listing of
databases is provided on the main e-resources page
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)
This database includes indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 25,000 most-cited authors in the database. Business-related topics covered in this database include marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more. See also Enhanced Business Searching Interface
. Coverage: 1886 - Present.
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)
Business research database which includes full‐text journals and titles from the business press as well as key trade publications, dissertations, conference proceedings, and industry and market reports. Includes all content found in ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Research, and ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Archive. Coverage: 1971 - Present.
- ACCOUNT - ACCOUNT (Informit, RMIT)
Covers accounting, auditing, taxation, insolvency, corporate law, superannuation, retirement planning, financial planning, practice management and human resources and is produced by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. Coverage: 1982 - Present.
- Annual Reports On-line (Aspect Huntley) (Huntleys' Investment Information Pty. Limited (HII), Morningstar, Inc.)
This research tool offers access to Australian companies' annual reports dating back to 1995. It also provides access to the full documentation of Australian Stock Exchange announcements from October 1998 to today, including prospectuses. These announcements are updated continually throughout the day.
- Factiva (ProQuest)
Provides full text news, business and company information and includes articles from major newspapers from Australia and around the world. Access is restricted to 3 concurrent users.
- FinAnalysis (Aspect Huntley, HII, Morningstar, Inc.) [see DatAnalysis Premium)
- Tax and Accounting Online (Thomson Reuters (Professional) Australia Limited)
Produced by the Australian Taxation Office Library Network, this bibliographic database indexes and abstracts journals primarily in the area of taxation law but also including other areas of interest such as child support, accounting, business, finance and superannuation. Coverage: 1992 - current.
- Accounting & Tax (ProQuest)
Brings together global and scholarly journals with key resources covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day. Provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more, including over 2,300 publications with hundreds in full-text. Coverage: 1971 - Present.