Databases by title: A
- A + Education (Informit, RMIT)A+ Education is an indexing and full text database that provides online access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on all aspects of education. A+ Education is based on 'AEI', the Australian Education Index, and contains the fulltext of 200+ journals. Subject coverage includes curriculum, educational research, information science, librarianship, management, policy administration, psychology, sociology, teaching and training. Full text: 2000- ; Index: 1978-
- ABC-CLIO eBook Collection (ABC-CLIO)This collection includes over 7,000 titles comprising of encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, and guides from ABC-CLIO, Greenwood Press, Libraries Unlimited, and Praeger imprints. Subjects include: American history; business; current events and issues; economics; military history; politics, law and government; popular culture, psychology; science, technology and environment; security studies; and world history.
- ABI/INFORM Complete (ProQuest)Indexes over 1000 English language journal and newspaper articles on advertising, business, companies, computers, economics, finance, human resources, marketing, public affairs and taxation. Most include abstracts, many include full text. International coverage. 1985 -
- Abstracts in Social Gerontology (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other key areas of relevance to the discipline. The index contains 70,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources.
- Academic Complete (Ebrary)Academic Complete is a highly interactive eBook database from ebrary® that covers all academic subject areas. The collection currently includes more than 30,000 titles from more than 220 of the world’s leading academic, STM, and professional publishers.
- Academic OneFile (Infotrac, GALE)Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)Academic Search Complete provides full text for more than 5,990 publications, including full text for more than 5,030 peer-reviewed journals. This multi-disciplinary database covers many academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, business, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, health and medical sciences.
- Academic Video Online (Alexander Street Press) [see VAST: Academic Video Online]
- AccessEngineering (The McGraw-Hill Companies)AccessEngineering offers the widest and deepest repository of fully searchable engineering content available online - from the authors and industry-leading titles engineers have trusted and depended on for years. Focused around 14 major areas of engineering, AccessEngineering features a new taxonomy book view offering comprehensive coverage and faster title-by-title access to our engineering collection. Includes 250 engineering books.
- AccessMedicine (The McGraw-Hill Companies)AccessMedicine provides complete and authoritative internationally-recognized references such as Harrison's Online and Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. Students and health professionals can access the most up-to-date medical knowledge in internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, and patient care. AccessMedicine features include daily updates, peer-reviewed content, CME, drug database updated monthly, patient educatio
- AccessScience (The McGraw-Hill Companies)Updated daily, AccessScience delivers the latest content of the trusted McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology, Research Updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks of Science & Technology, and the McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, and high quality related information. Access is restricted to one concurrent user.
- ACCOUNT (Informit, RMIT)Indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on accounting and related business topics, produced by the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia. Source documents are Australian journal articles, conference papers and academic research papers. Coverage: 1982 -
- Accounting & Tax (ProQuest)Abstracts, indexes & full text imaging. Comprehensive coverage of accounting, auditing, financial management and tax topics appearing in key industry publications from the US and overseas. Includes citations to relevant articles from over 800 newspapers, business journals, dissertations and news magazines. Coverage 1990 onwards.
- ACM Digital Library (Association for Computing Machinery)Covers computing and related industries and includes abstracts, reviews, and the full-text for most articles published in ACM journals, magazines and conference proceedings. Coverage: 1985 -
- ACS Publications (American Chemical Society)Currently, over 30 peer-reviewed journals and magazines are published or co-published by the Publications Division, in the area of chemistry and related sciences, with subscribed titles being available in full text.
- AEM (Informit, RMIT)AEM (Arts & Entertainment Management Database, produced by the Faculty of Management, Deakin University, is a bibliographic database that indexes articles from published and unpublished material on arts and entertainment management. Subject coverage includes the arts and entertainment environment, cultural planning, finance, funding, law, marketing, project/venue management, research, and technology related to the arts and entertainment industry.
- AFPD (Informit, RMIT)AFPD (Australian Federal Police Digest) includes indexes and abstracts Australian and overseas journals, books, conference papers and unpublished material on policing, criminology, law enforcement and related fields. Coverage: 1991 - current.
- African American Music Reference (Alexander Street Press)Contains 50,000 pages of text and 17,000 pages of liner notes that offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- Age (The Age - Melbourne) (EBSCO - Newspaper Source Plus)Today's news.
- AGIS Plus Text (Informit, RMIT)Compiled by Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Dept, AGIS Plus Text is an indexing and abstracting database covering all aspect of Australian law. This authoritative database of Australian legal topics commenced in 1975, and includes an increasing amount of material in full text from 1999.
- Agricola (OvidSP, Wolters Kluwer)Indexes materials in all formats in agriculture, horticulture, food and nutrition. Recent references include abstracts. International coverage, with a US bias. Coverage: 1970 - current.
- Agriculture (Infotrac, GALE)Comprised of nearly 200 titles, researchers will have access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
- AGRIS: International Information System for the Agricultural Sciences and Technology (FAO)Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book chapters and reports in agriculture, horticulture, food and nutrition. International coverage, with emphasis on publications relevant to developing countries. Coverage: 1975 - current.
- AHB (Informit, RMIT)AHB (Australian Heritage Bibliography), produced by the Australian Heritage Commission, is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on Australia's natural and cultural environment. Subject coverage includes national parks; endangered species; coasts; forests; wetlands; rivers; geological features; wilderness areas; world heritage sites; aboriginal rock art sites, ceremonial grounds and sacred sites; important historical
- AHRR (Informit, RMIT)AHRR (Australian Historic Records Register) contains bibliographic references to letters, diaries, photographs, financial records, posters, sketches, recipe books, catalogues, minute books, registers and other materials. Covers life in Australia from settlement to 1988.
- AIATSIS (Informit, RMIT)AIATSIS (Indigenous Studies Bibliography) covers published and unpublished material on Australian Indigenous studies and is compiled by Pat Brady, Barry Cundy and Alana Garwood at the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies Library. 1990 - present
- AIMMAT (Informit, RMIT)Information about the AIMMAT (AIM Management and Training database) includes indexes and articles on management, training and related fields. Source documents are Australian (plus some New Zealand and South-East Asian) journal articles.
- Alexander Street Anthropology (Alexander Street Press)A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference work. Content can be shared via embeddable links; user-created playlists and clips, with annotation features and ability to incorporate content from outside the collection, and more.
- Algology Mycology and Protozoology Abstracts (Microbiology C) Indexes & Limits (CSA Illumina, ProQuest)
- ALISA (Informit, RMIT)ALISA (Australian Library & Information Science Abstracts) inlucdes indexes and abstracts include monographs, research reports, conference papers, periodical articles and unpublished material. Overseas articles by Australian authors or on Australian libraries are also indexed. Subject coverage includes library science, information science, information technology, children's literature and archives. Coverage: 1982 - 2005
- America, Asia and the Pacific (Adam Matthew Digital)This database consists mainly of diaries, scrapbooks, drawings, correspondence, research files, manuscripts, publications and teaching materials of Edward Sylvester Morse (1838-1925), a Scientist and Japanologist. This complete Edward S. Morse collection is a valuable source for researchers interested in the history of American relations with Japan, Japanese social history, and Asian art history.
- Animal Behavior Abstracts Indexes & Limits (CSA Illumina, ProQuest)
- Annual Reports On-line (Aspect Huntley) (Huntleys' Investment Information Pty. Limited (HII), Morningstar, Inc.)This research tool offers access to Australian companies' annual reports dating back to 1995. It also provides access to the full documentation of Australian Stock Exchange announcements from October 1998 to today, including prospectuses. These announcements are updated continually throughout the day.
- Annual Reviews (Atypon)Annual Reviews Online publishes full text critical reviews of primary research literature in 29 physical, biomedical and social sciences disciplines. Includes autobiographical interviews (audio and video).
- ANR-Index Archive (Informit, RMIT)ANR-Index Archive (Agriculture and Natural Resources Index) is an Australian government initiative produced by Infoscan, is a bibliographic database with informative abstracts and links to full text for agriculture and natural resources including sustainable Australian agriculture, food, forestry and fisheries industries and the promotion of conservation and sustainable use of Australia's environment, water and natural resources. Coverage:1975 - 2007.
- ANSTI (Informit, RMIT)ANSTI (Australian Nuclear Science & Technology Information) was compiled by the Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (ANSTO), contains bibliographical references to the Australian scientific and technical literature covering the broad spectrum of nuclear science research and development, with special emphasis on its peaceful applications as well as the economic and environmental aspects of non-nuclear energy. Coverage: 1970 - current.
- Anthropology Online (Alexander Street Press)A comprehensive resource for the study of human culture and behavior. Features cross-searchable access to Ethnographic Video Online and Anthropology Online collections. Researchers can explore a wide range of materials—from documentaries and field notes to written ethnographies and reference work. Content can be shared via embeddable links; user-created playlists and clips, with annotation features and ability to incorporate content from outside the collection, and more.
- APA-FT (Informit, RMIT)APAFT (Australian Public Affairs - Full Text) is an indexing and full text database that provides access to the scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities. Full text coverage (500 journals): (1995 -) Index coverage: (1978 -)
- APECLIT (Informit, RMIT)APECLIT (APEC Literature Database) includes indexes and abstracts articles from published materials relevant to the Asia Pacific Economic Community (APEC). Subjects include trade and investment data; trade promotion investment; industrial science and technology; human resource development; energy; telecommunications; marine resource conservation; fisheries; transportation and tourism. Coverage: 1993 - 2003.
- Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online: Series 1 (GALE)Information about the Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online database Arab-Israeli Relations, 1917-1970: The Middle East Online, Series 1 places before scholars and students of Palestine and the Arab-Israeli conflict a wide range of original source material, from the 1917 Balfour Declaration through to the Black September war of 1970-1.
- ARCH (Informit, RMIT)ARCH (Australian Architecture Database) includes indexes and abstracts articles, exhibitions, reviews, obituaries, editorials, conference proceedings, news items, and award features that are held by Stanton Library, Nth Sydney Council. Covers Australian architects, architecture, building, interior design and landscape architecture. Coverage: 1980 - current.
- Art & Architecture Complete (EBSCOhost, EBSCO)Provides full-text coverage of more than 350 periodicals and 220 books. In addition, Art & Architecture Complete offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 800 academic journals, magazines and trade publications, as well as over 220 books and an Image Collection of over 64,000 images provided by Picture Desk and others.
- Art Images (UWS Library)Developed by UWS Library and accessed via myUWSAccount login, the Art Images database will initially contain 200 individual digital images purchased from Courtauld Institute of Art. Searchable by key terms such as artist, title and medium, the Art Images database allows UWS staff and students to preview each image and download a high-quality jpg version for use in class presentations or assignments. Additional images will be added to the database on a regular basis.
- ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) (ProQuest)Abstracts of modern and contemporary art and design dating from the 19th century onwards and the history of photography. Coverage includes performance, installation, video art, computer and electronic art, body art as well as traditional media. Contains references to journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues and dissertations from 1974 to present.
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (Web of Science) (Web of Knowledge, Thomson Reuters)Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes 1,144 of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
- ASCE Conference Proceedings (ASCE)ASCE is the largest publisher of civil engineering content. The conference proceedings available through ASCE contain papers from the most prestigious professional meetings of leading civil engineers from around the globe. Coverage: 2000 to the present, and selected papers published between 1996 and 1999.
- ASCE Library (ASCE)ASCE is the largest publisher of civil engineering content. The list of resources accessible through ASCE includes 33 journals from 1983 to present (more than 7,000 papers per year of civil engineering research and practice), conference proceedings from 1996 to present (containing papers from the most prestigious professional meetings of leading civil engineers from around the globe), and more than 300 ebooks including ASCE Press, Standards, Manuals of Practice and committee reports.
- ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources (CSA Illumina, ProQuest)
- ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts Indexes & Limits (CSA Illumina, ProQuest)
- ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts Indexes & Limits (CSA Illumina, ProQuest)
- Asia-Studies Full-Text Online (International Information Services) A database for the study of the modern Asia-Pacific. It provides access to reports, working paper series, and journals from Asia's most prestigious research institutions, covering business, economic, government, political, and social issues related to the nations of Asia-Pacific. The 55 countries covered include all of Asia from Afghanistan, Pakistan, Russia and the Central Asian republics and on east through India, Southeast Asia, China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand, and the Pacific islands.
- Asia-Studies Humanities (International Information Services)This full text database covers Asia-Pacific arts, culture, history, language, religion and more. Asia-Studies Humanities brings together peer reviewed journals, scholarly institutional publishers and working papers from research institutions in the region. The 55 countries covered by the database include all of Asia from Afghanistan, Pakistan, and the Central Asian republics on east through India, Southeast Asia, China, Japan, Australia, New Zealand and the Pacific Islands.
- Asian Business & Reference (ProQuest)# Indexes and abstracts the latest Asian business and financial information from key international publications including Far Eastern Economic Review, Asiaweek, plus many more. Full text available. International, with an American emphasis. Coverage: 1986 - current.
- ASIANRES (Informit, RMIT)ASIANRES (Asian Resources) contains information on selected Asia/Pacific related databases and services. Asia is defined as the Indian subcontinent, East Asia and South-East Asia. Some services can be accessed free on the Internet, while others require a subscription, and/or payment for online connect time. Records 227. Coverage: to 2001
- ASTM Digital Library (ASTM International)Online technical repository covering a wide range of materials and industries, including Special Technical Publications, manuals, technical papers and journals from the standards development organization American Society for Testing and Materials.
- ASTM International Standards Collection (IHS)Access to over 11,800 current Standards from the American Society for Testing and Materials.
- ATI (Informit, RMIT)ATI (Australian Tourism Index) includes indexes and abstracts articles on leisure, recreation, sport, tourism and travel from books, conference proceedings, audiovisual material, newspapers, journals, reports, commercial publications, unpublished material and government documents relevant to Australia, NZ and the Pacific. Coverage: 1982 - July 2000.
- ATNS: Agreements, Treaties and Negotiated Settlements database (Indigenous Studies Program, University of Melbourne)The ATNS database links together current information, historical detail and published material relating to agreements made between Indigenous people and others in Australia and overseas.
- ATRI (Informit, RMIT)ATRI (Australian Transport Index) includes indexes and abstracts published and unpublished Australian material on transport, including all ARRB and Austroads publications. Coverage of Australian and New Zealand publications is comprehensive, and overseas publications are indexed more selectively. Coverage: 1960 - current.
- ATSIDA: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Data Archive (UTS - CRICOS )ATSIDA contains digital data generated by researchers working with Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people and issues. This archive collects often dispersed data and manages it in accordance with appropriate protocols, drawing on the expertise jointly developed by Jumbunna Indigenous House of Learning and the UTS Library.
- ATSIhealth (Informit, RMIT)ATSIhealth (Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Bibliography) includes indexes and abstracts published and unpublished material on the status of Australian Indigenous health. Source documents include theses, government reports, conference papers, books, discussion and working papers, and statistical documents. Coverage: 1900 - current.
- AUSCHRON (Informit, RMIT)AUSCHRON (Chronology of Australian Historic and Current Events) contains summaries of events, with dates and background notes, with coverage from the earliest Dutch discoveries in the 1600s to the present with particular emphasis on the years 1993 to the present. Covers politics and law to the arts and sports. Sources include daily papers, national news journals and reports. Coverage: 1992 - current.
- AUSPORT: Australian Sport Database (Informit, RMIT)Indexes and abstracts articles from publications and unpublished material on all aspects of Australian sport including administration, children, coaching, disabled, economics, facilities, history, medicine, nutrition, physiology, psychology, women and Olympic Games (Sydney 2000). Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes. Coverage: 1989 - current.
- AusportMed (Informit, RMIT)Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on all aspects of medical and health issues in Australian sport. AusportMed is a subset of the Australian Sport Database (AUSPORT), which covers material on all aspects of Australian sport. Source documents include journals, monographs, conference papers, government reports, theses, videotapes and audiocassettes. Coverage: 1989 - current.
- AustArt: Australian art journals index (COFA UNSW)AustArt, the Australian Art Journals Index , lists over 39,000 entries on Australian art, enabling access to articles on Australian art and artists published in journals held by the College of Fine Arts Library.
- AUSTGUIDE (Informit, RMIT)Contains Guidelines and Education Guidelines and covers education, science and natural history, geography, business and economics, history and current affairs, literature, information technology and computing and is produced by Bibliographic Services Pty Ltd. 350,393 records; Archive: 1986 - November 2006.
- AustLII: Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII)Provides free access to Australasian Acts, Cases, some journals, Law Reform Commission reports and articles.
- AUSTLIT: The Australian Literature Resource (AUSTLIT)Indexes creative and critical writing by or about Australian creative authors. Children's literature is included (see the Children's Literature Digital Resources (CLDR) project). Also lists awards, prizes and grants. Comprehensive coverage from 1988+
- Australia & New Zealand Newsstand (ProQuest)Access the full text of all major Australian and New Zealand newspapers. Includes regional and rural radio transcripts and news from current affairs television programs such as the ABC 7.30 Report.
- Australian Bureau of Statistics (ABS) (Commonwealth of Australia)Contains statistical data from the main demographic, economic and financial publications of the Bureau. It offers full text of all publications from 1998 onwards as well as downloadable time series in spreadsheet format and other datasets.
- Australian Case Citator [see Westlaw AU: Product Cases: FirstPoint
- Australian Company Reports (IBISWorld) [formerly Australian Company Research Reports]Available for the top 2,000 companies that drive Australia's economy (based on revenue), each report includes the company’s history, brands and products, contact details and key personnel. It also details the business’s operating and legal structure, financial data and industries of involvement. Reports are updated quarterly. Also available are Industry Reports for over 500 Australian industries.
- Australian Current Law Tables (LexisNexis)
- Australian Encyclopaedia of Forms & Precedents - Index (LexisNexis)
- Australian Industry Reports (IBISWorld) [formerly Australian Industry Research Reports] IBISWorld’s Industry Research Reports provide strategic insights and analysis on over 500 Australian industries – including new report titles on emerging industries. Each report consists of 30 to 40 pages of key statistics and analysis on market characteristics, operating conditions, current and historical performance, a five-year forecast, major industry participants and more. Reports are updated quarterly. Also available are Company Reports for Australia’s top 2000 companies.
- Australian Legal Words and Phrases (LexisNexis)An excellent reference tool, this work provides a comprehensive listing of words and phrases which have either been defined in legislation or judicially interpreted. The publication provides details of where the word or phrase has been defined and often the context in which the term is defined. This allows you to isolate immediately the most relevant definition. Over 100,000 words and phrases from Australian case law and legislation.
Comments (0)
Need help? |
Links: Website / Blog |
Loading...
